The IVSC is pleased to welcome ten new representatives to its Membership and Standards Recognition Board (MSRB).  The new members represent Valuation Professional Organisations (VPOs) from around the world and will join current MSRB representatives in an effort to support awareness and implementation of IVS.  

The MSRB works with established and new Valuation Professional Organisations, as well as other organisations across the valuation landscape, to support them in their efforts to enhance professionalism. through the adoption of International Valuation Standards.  The Board is chaired by Eric Teo and now includes leading representatives from the following organisations:

  • Appraisal Institute of Canada
  • Australian Property Institute
  • CBV Institute
  • China Appraisal Society
  • Dutch Register Real Estate Valuers (NRVT)
  • Estate Surveyors and Valuers Registration Board of Nigeria
  • Institute of Cost Accountants of India
  • Institution of Surveyors Uganda
  • Israel Real Estate Appraisers Association
  • National Association of Romanian Authorised Valuers
  • Pan-Ukrainian Association of Valuation Specialists
  • Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, Kenya
  • Society of Chartered Surveyors, Ireland


The new members of the MSRB are:

Drew Dorweiler (CBV Institute)

Drew is a Managing Director at IJW & Co., a boutique investment bank headquartered in Montreal, Canada, with offices in Singapore, Hong Kong, the United States and Antigua.  He is the firm's Valuation Practice Leader and Director of Asian Operations. Drew was elected to the Board of Trustees of The Appraisal Foundation for the 2013-2015 and 2016-2018 terms and to the Board of Directors of The CBV Institute from 2006-2009 (he was named a Fellow in 2018). He was named a Fellow of Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors in 2013. 

Dr. Uche Egwuatu (Estate Surveyors and Valuers Registration Board of Nigeria)

Dr. Egwuatu is a Senior Partner in the firm of Chika Egwuatu and Partners, real estate surveying and valuation consultants with head office in Abuja, the Federal Capital City of Nigeria. She is a member of the Estate Surveyors and Valuers Registration Board of Nigeria (ESVARBON), the Board that sets the standards and regulates the estate surveying and valuation profession in Nigeria. She presently Chairs the Education Committee of the Board with responsibility to assist the Board in determining the standard of knowledge and skills to be attained by persons seeking to join the profession. 

Dr. S K Gupta Institute of Cost Accountants of India)

Dr. Gupta is the Managing Director of Registered Valuers Organization of the Institute of Cost Accountants of India. He was earlier MD and CEO of the IPA of Institute of Cost Accountants of India

Mugisha Turyahikayo Allan (Institution of Surveyors, Uganda)

Mugisha Turyahikayo Allan is a Tangible and Business Valuation specialist operating in the East African region. He is the Managing Partner of S-M Cathan and former Council Member and Honorary Secretary of the Institution of Surveyors in Uganda, 2007 to 2017. He is also an Advocate of the High Court of Uganda and a Registered Valuer with the Surveyors Registration Board in Uganda and the Institute of Real Property Valuers of Rwanda.

Haim Mesilaty (Israel Real Estate Appraisers Association)

Haim Mesilaty has been Chair of the Israel Real Estate Appraisers Association (IREAA) since 2017. Additionally, he is President of the Israel IVS Forum, a think tank and advocacy group set up by IREAA. Haim is an Israel Real Estate Appraiser and is also a member of the Israel Law Bar. He owns his own practice based in the city of Petah Tiqva, part of the greater Tel Aviv metropolitan area.

Dana Ababei (National Association of Valuation Specialists, Romania)

Dana Ababei is a certified investment consultant and the CEO of CMF CONSULTING S.A. a Romanian valuation company. Dana served as President and Chairman of the Board (2018-2019) of the National Association of Romanian Authorized Valuers – ANEVAR which includes more than 4100 individuals and 550 companies. She is member of the Board of Directors at International Institute of Business Valuers (iiBV), Toronto, Canada.

Prof. Valery Yakubovsky (Pan-Ukrainian Association of Valuation Specialists)

Professor Yakubovsky is a professor at the Institute of International Relations of Taras Shevchenko National University of Kiev, Department of International Business. Since 2019 he has been Vice-President of a leading VPO in Ukraine - Pan-Ukrainian Association of Valuation Specialists (PUAVS).

Bernadette Gitari (RICS, Kenya)

Bernadette works for RICS International Limited as the Partner Development and Public Affairs Manager in Sub Saharan Africa. Her responsibilities include promoting the RICS Strategic Plan in Sub-Saharan Africa through thought leadership, adoption of International Standards, membership, and training. Prior to joining the RICS in September 2019, Bernadette was the Director and Head of Valuations at Knight Frank Kenya 

Dr. Frank Harrington (Society of Chartered Surveyors, Ireland)

Dr. Frank Harrington is an experienced educator, researcher and registered valuer working in the area of property investment and development valuations. In addition to his professional and educational experience Frank has been involved in setting standards through his work with professional bodies. He is a fellow and active member of the Society of Chartered Surveyors Ireland (SCSI) having made significant contributions to various working and professional groups including the Valuation Professional Group and the Surveyors Journal.

Javier Ayala (Ecuador)

Javier is Director of Operations of VALAQ and a consultores since 2014. He has been responsible for IVS analysis and uses best practices into the valuation profession for the company as much as it has been possible within Ecuador´s jurisdictional legislation. As Director of Operations, has been responsible for setting up Operations for valuations performed under IVS for overseas customers and locally for Customers from Banking System. Javier is appointed to the IVSC MSRB as a leader and advocate for IVS in Ecuador and the wider region.

Commenting on the new appointments, MSRB Chair, Eric Teo, said:

"It gives me great pleasure to welcome new members to the Membership and Standards Recognition Board (MSRB).  This expansion of the Board is a significant step forward for the MSRB as we broaden our geographic coverage internationally.  The Board now comprises a diverse group of experts from 15 countries, with an in-depth knowledge of professionalism, to support the efforts of the MSRB and to raise the profile of IVS with key stakeholders across the globe."


As the new appointments are made, the IVSC would like to extend gratitude to the MSRB members whose terms have concluded, Ken Creighton (RICS), Jeanette Koger (AICPA) and George Badescu (ANEVAR). Thank you for your contributions and dedication to the IVSC over a number of years.